The Q&P Awards are back – CAUBO wants to reward innovation at your institution!

Submit your innovative idea or business improvement to the CAUBO Quality & Productivity Awards!

Found a better way to do something? Tell us about it!

What are the Q&P Awards?
Since 1987, CAUBO has celebrated the administrative achievements of its members with the Quality and Productivity (Q&P) Awards. These are the Oscars of best practices in higher education administration!

The concept is simple: Reward and share effective and innovative practices that enable excellence in the management of human, financial, and physical resources on Canadian campuses. Five national prizes are awarded each year to honour excellence in risk management, administrative efficiency, space management, environmental sustainability, and innovation.

Think your project is too straightforward or obvious to win? Sometimes it’s the simplest ideas that have the greatest impact. Past winners include:

  • Ryerson University – Departmental Safety Officer Program
  • HEC Montréal – Planning a Major Infrastructure Using a Pilot Project Approach
  • Carleton University – Improving Recycling Behaviours in a University Food Court
  • The University of British Columbia – Finance Support Program
  • McMaster University – IT Services Transformation
  • Simon Fraser University – Social Procurement Landscape
  • Polytechnique Montréal et l’Université de Sherbrooke – Distinguished Budget Presentation Award

If you think a project that’s now underway or complete at your university should be added to the winners’ list, complete the application form online and tell us why you should win a 2020 Q&P Award!

The submission deadline for this year’s awards is January 24, 2020. So go ahead – show off your achievements! We’re waiting to reward them.

2020 CAUBO Recognition Award – Don’t forget to nominate an outstanding colleague!

The submission deadline for the CAUBO 2020 Recognition Awards is January 31, 2020.


We all know someone who consistently goes above and beyond, through hard work, volunteerism, mentorship, or all of the above. These people make higher education administration a better sector to work in. They make our jobs easier. They bring out the best in others. Wouldn’t it be great if they were recognized for it?

You can make that happen by nominating them for a 2020 CAUBO Recognition Award!

Check out the criteria for the member-nominated recognition awards as well as some past recipients:

  • The Emerging Leader Award honours future leaders in the higher education field.
  • The Ken Clements Distinguished Administrator Award recognizes an administrator who has made an extraordinary contribution to the advancement of higher education administration and has demonstrated outstanding leadership.
  • The Distinguished Service Award is granted to persons who have made a significant contribution to CAUBO and the management of higher education over a long period of time, upon the conclusion of their career in university administration.
  • Honorary Membership is a meaningful recognition bestowed sparingly and only to those individuals among those satisfying the criteria for a Distinguished Service Award who are deemed to have made an extraordinary contribution to CAUBO and the management of higher education.

This year’s awards will be presented at a ceremony on the Tuesday morning of the CAUBO 2020 Annual Conference in Toronto.

CAUBO Announces 2018 Member Recognition Award Recipients

CAUBO Member Recognition Awards celebrate and honour those who help build a vibrant CAUBO community and a stronger higher education sector through collaboration and leadership.

This past week, four awards were given out to acknowledge some of these contributions. We would like to extend our sincerest congratulations to the recipients of this year’s awards!

For complete details on the winners, visit the CAUBO Member Recognition Winner list.

View the videos from this year’s Member Recognition Award Ceremony in the playlist below: