Cours en ligne

L’ACPAU met à la disposition des administrateurs universitaires deux cours fondamentaux en ligne qui comprennent des travaux à effectuer de manière autonome et des apprentissages en groupe. Le contenu des cours est disponible en format PDF, et les séances d’apprentissage se déroulent au moyen d’une application de clavardage en ligne. Apprenez-en plus sur ces cours en ligne offerts par l’ACPAU :

Principes fondamentaux de la recherche

« J’ai trouvé la formation très profitable, et nous travaillons à mettre en place certaines des stratégies apprises. »
– Cathy Gates, directrice, Bureau des services de recherche, Trent University

« Cette formation est très utile et je vais certainement la conseiller à mes collègues. »
– Lily Li, agente principale de contrats d’approvisionnement, Simon Fraser University

Aperçu de la formation

Cette formation aidera les administrateurs universitaires à mieux comprendre le contexte général de la recherche universitaire, y compris son financement, sa réglementation et son administration. Elle expliquera pourquoi, dans une université, autant de secteurs participent à l’administration de la recherche; elle abordera aussi certains des défis qui sont rattachés au partage des responsabilités entre les universités et les chercheurs; enfin, il sera également question de la quête d’un équilibre dans l’attribution des ressources entre les deux principales vocations d’une université, soit l’enseignement et la recherche.

Chaque administrateur universitaire qui désire s’acquitter efficacement de ses tâches se doit de bien comprendre l’importance de la recherche. Que vous soyez à l’emploi d’un service central, d’un service aux étudiants ou d’un bureau de faculté, votre rôle est influencé par des exigences directes et indirectes liées à la recherche, tout comme le sont les ressources dont vous disposez pour faire votre travail. Les arguments que vous avancez pour obtenir plus de financement ou jouer un rôle décisionnel plus important doivent refléter la façon dont vous et votre unité soutenez l’enseignement et la recherche.

Pour vous permettre de bien comprendre le contexte de la recherche universitaire, la formation a été divisée en sept chapitres qui se regroupent en quatre modules :

Module 1 – La recherche : politiques et financement
• Les politiques liées à la recherche universitaire et à son financement
• Les différents types de recherche et leurs sources de financement

Module 2 – La recherche : principes et environnement
• Les principes fondamentaux de la recherche universitaire
• Le milieu de la recherche

Module 3 – Le soutien administratif à la recherche
• L’administration de la recherche
• Conclusion – La réalité d’un campus axé sur la recherche

Module 4 – Étude de cas en groupe

La culture et la gouvernance universitaires

« Les organisations axées sur l’apprentissage cherchent constamment des cours de perfectionnement professionnel pertinents et efficaces pour l’ensemble de leur personnel administratif. Le cours en ligne de l’ACPAU sur la gouvernance universitaire répond à merveille à ces critères grâce à son contenu pertinent et à son matériel efficace utilisé par l’entremise de technologies d’enseignement à distance. »
Gary Bradshaw, vice-recteur aux finances et aux installations, University of Prince Edward Island

Description du cours

Veuillez prendre note que ce cours est offert en anglais seulement

Ce cours porte sur la culture et la gouvernance en milieu universitaire. Il a pour objectif d’aider les administrateurs, nouveaux ou chevronnés, à mieux comprendre les particularités du contexte universitaire afin d’y travailler de manière plus efficace.

Les universités, qui figurent parmi les institutions les plus durables du monde, souscrivent à des valeurs et à des principes fondamentaux qu’elles ont su véhiculer depuis des temps immémoriaux. Ces valeurs et principes continuent de nos jours à façonner les universités et contribuent à nourrir un environnement qui diffère considérablement de celui dans lequel évoluent les organisations des secteurs public et privé. Pour qu’un administrateur soit efficace dans une université, il est essentiel qu’il comprenne et respecte ces valeurs et principes, et il se doit d’adapter ses pratiques en conséquence.

La nature unique des universités et la culture qui y règne influent sur la façon dont les administrateurs travaillent, interagissent avec autrui, consultent leurs pairs, proposent des idées et des projets pour étude ou approbation, et mettent en œuvre de nouvelles initiatives. Tous les administrateurs, qu’ils travaillent dans des unités d’enseignement et de recherche, des services centraux, des services aux étudiants ou des services auxiliaires, connaissent cette réalité.

Ce cours combine du contenu Web à des séances d’apprentissage virtuelles. Par des présentations, des lectures, des travaux individuels, des activités d’apprentissage et des discussions de groupe, le cours vise à donner aux administrateurs universitaires l’habitude de prendre constamment en compte les questions de contexte et de culture dans tous les aspects de leur travail. Le contenu du cours permettra aux participants de comprendre de façon générale :

  • l’origine des universités, à l’époque féodale, et en quoi cela se reflète dans la culture et les traditions encore de nos jours;
  • la division des rôles entre le sénat, le conseil d’administration et le recteur de l’université, et les répercussions possibles sur la planification et la prise de décisions dans les unités de nature pédagogique et non pédagogique;
  • le processus judiciaire unique qui s’applique aux universités et comment cela influe sur l’élaboration et l’application des processus;
  • l’influence du fédéral et des provinces sur les universités du point de vue constitutionnel et pour ce qui est du financement;
  • les grandes sources de financement des universités pour ce qui est du fonctionnement, de la recherche et des immobilisations;
  • le caractère unique et le mode de financement de la recherche universitaire;
  • la gouvernance collégiale et ce que cela signifie dans la pratique;
  • les principes de liberté intellectuelle et leur application;
  • la signification et les répercussions du processus d’évaluation par les pairs, ainsi que les principes de justice naturelle en milieu universitaire;
  • les valeurs qui animent le corps professoral et comment elles se répercutent dans les interactions courantes entre les administrateurs et les membres du corps professoral;
  • la charge de travail du corps professoral.

Public cible :

  • Toute personne recrutée à l’extérieur du milieu universitaire pour occuper un poste de cadre intermédiaire ou un poste plus élevé.
  • Toute personne qui désire gravir les échelons de la direction en milieu universitaire.
  • Le personnel administratif de tous les secteurs d’activité de l’université, aux échelons intermédiaires et supérieurs.

Temps à consacrer au cours :

Les participants peuvent s’attendre à consacrer environ 25 heures à ce cours, qui comporte des présentations, des lectures, des activités d’apprentissage, du travail en groupe et des séances en direct.

Au sujet du conferencier Peter Godman

Lorsque Peter Godman a commencé à travailler à la University of British Columbia (UBC) en 1988, il était évident que ce n’était que le début de sa carrière en enseignement supérieur. Étant donné ses vastes connaissances sur le milieu postsecondaire (acquises notamment en ayant occupé une multitude de rôles, de la collecte de fonds à la gestion de l’approvisionnement en passant par les ressources humaines), il est tout à fait normal que Peter anime le cours La culture et la gouvernance universitaires depuis 2013.

En 2012, il a obtenu une maîtrise en éducation (avec spécialisation en enseignement supérieur) à la UBC, où il a étudié l’histoire et la culture de l’enseignement supérieur ainsi que les enjeux, la structure et les politiques de l’enseignement supérieur au Canada.

Actuellement, Peter est gestionnaire des opérations pour Entrepreneurhsip@UBC, un programme qui soutient la création d’entreprises auprès des étudiants, des professeurs et des diplômés de la UBC.

Politique d’annulation et de remplacement pour les cours enligne

Toute demande d’annulation doit être reçue par écrit cinq (5) jours ouvrables ou plus avant la date de début du cours. Veuillez noter que des frais administratifs de 50 $ s’appliquent.

Les remboursements seront effectués dans un délai de 30 jours après l’activité. Les demandes de remplacement doivent aussi être reçues cinq (5) jours ouvrables ou plus avant la date de début du cours. Un seul remplacement est autorisé par personne inscrite, et un consentement écrit doit être fourni par la personne remplacée. Pour faire une demande d’annulation ou de remplacement, veuillez communiquer avec la coordonnatrice d’événements à l’adresse kserjak@acpau.ca.

Vous pouvez visionner une courte vidéo pour en apprendre plus sur la façon dont les formations en ligne de l’ACPAU sont offertes et structurées. (Disponible en anglais seulement)

Online Education Courses

CAUBO offers two foundational online courses for higher education administrators. Both courses are offered using a combination of independent and group study. Course materials are provided in PDF format, and live learning sessions are conducted via an online group chat tool. Learn more about CAUBO’s online courses:

Fundamentals of the Research Enterprise

Click here to add your name to a waiting list now. Please be sure to include your full name, title, institution and contact information. You will receive an email offering you priority registration for the next offering of this course.

“I found the course very helpful and we are putting some of the strategies learned into practice.”
– Cathy Gates, Director, Office of Research Services, Trent University

“This course is very useful and I will certainly recommend it to my colleagues.”
– Lily Li, Major Purchasing Contracts Officer, Simon Fraser University

Course Overview

Please note that this course is only offered in English at this time.

This course will assist university administrators in understanding the overall context of university research, including its funding, regulation, and administration. It will explain why so many areas of the university are involved in research administration, and will explore some of the challenges that arise from the sharing of responsibilities between the university and researcher, as well as the balancing of resource allocation between the university’s two principal missions of teaching and research.

Every university administrator needs to have an understanding of the importance of research in order to effectively do his or her job. Whether you are in a central service, a student service, or a faculty office, your role is affected by the demands research places on you, directly or indirectly, and more importantly on the resources you have at your disposal to do your job. The arguments you make for more funding or greater participation in decision-making need to reflect how you and your unit support both teaching and research.

To provide you with a broad understanding of the context for university research, this course is subdivided into seven chapters that are grouped into four modules:

Module 1 – The Research Policy Context and Funding
•    The Policy Context for University Research and its Funding
•    Types of Research Performed And Their Funding Sources

Module 2 – Research Principles and Environment
•    The Underlying Principles that Guide University Research
•    The Research Environment

Module 3 – Administrative Support to the Research Enterprise
•    Research Enterprise Administration
•    Conclusion – The Implications of a Research-Oriented Campus

Module 4 – Group Case Study

Time commitment

Participants are expected to commit approximately 25 hours to the completion of this course, which includes presentations, readings, course activities, group work and Live Learning Sessions.

Facilitated by:

Rosie Parnass

Rosie Parnass is currently a consultant offering HR consulting, facilitation and coaching services to higher education and not-for-profit organizations. Rosie recently retired from the University of Toronto after working there for over 35 years in a variety of functional areas including; student life; career services; human resources; organizational development and learning; and work/life support. As Executive Director, Organizational Learning and Development and Work Life Support, Rosie led a team providing organizational development, career management, mentoring and continuous learning programs that supported the University community. Rosie has presented at many conferences, nationally and internationally and has taught at the University’s School of Continuing Studies. Rosie has also been involved with CAUBO on the Training and Development Committee, and as a facilitator in their on-line course program. Rosie has a Master of Education, specializing in Adult Education and Counselling, from OISE/UT, has completed the Advanced Program in Human Resources Management and is a recent graduate of the Solution Focused Coaching program.

University Culture and Governance, November 05 - December 12, 2019

“As learning organizations we continue to look for relevant and effective professional developments courses for all levels of administrative staff. The CAUBO online course in university governance provides a tremendous opportunity to fill both these requirements by way of relevant content and material delivered effectively by distance education technologies.”

Gary Bradshaw, Vice-President, Finance and Facilities, University of Prince Edward Island

Course Description

Please note that this course is only offered in English at this time.

This course provides a comprehensive overview of university culture and governance. The objective is to help administrators, new and established, to better understand the university context and work more effectively and efficiently within the unique university environment.

Among the longest standing institutions in the world, universities adhere to fundamental principles and values that have been championed by academics from the earliest of times.  Those principles and values continue to shape the modern university and contribute to an environment that is substantially different from that encountered in private or public sector organizations.  To be effective in a university, it is essential that administrators understand and respect these values and principles and adapt their practices accordingly.

The unique nature of universities and the academic culture impact how administrators work, interact with individuals, consult, bring forward ideas or plans for review or approval and implement new initiatives. They are experienced by all administrators whether in academic units, central services, student services or ancillary services.

This course is a blend of web-based materials and live learning sessions. Through presentations, readings, assignments, activities and group discussions, this course aims to provide administrators with the ability to more instinctively take context and culture into account in carrying out their work. The course will provide participants with a general understanding of:

  • the origin of universities in feudal times and how this is reflected in the culture and traditions of today’s university
  • the division of roles between the Senate, the Board and the University President and how this might affect planning and decision-making in academic and non-academic units
  • the unique judicial process that applies to universities and how that influences process development and application
  • the federal and provincial influences over universities from a constitutional perspective and funding context;
  • the general funding sources of universities for operations, research and capital;
  • unique nature and funding of academic research
  • collegial governance and its meaning in practice
  • principles of academic freedom and their application
  • the meaning and implications of the peer review process and principles of natural justice in a university
  • academic values and how they impact routine interactions of academics and administrators
  • the academic workload

Time commitment

Participants are expected to commit approximately 25 hours to the completion of this course, which includes presentations, readings, course activities, group work and Live Learning Sessions.

UCG Course Schedule Overview

Subject Location Start End
CAUBO UCG Technical Orientation 1 * online Tue 2019-11-05 11:00 AM Tue 2019-11-05 11:45 AM
CAUBO UCG Technical Orientation 2 * online Tue 2019-11-05 2:00 PM Tue 2019-11-05 2:45 PM
CAUBO UCG LLS 1 of 4 – Introduction online Thu 2019-11-07 1:00 PM Thu 2019-11-07 2:30 PM
CAUBO UCG LLS 2 of 4 online Thu 2019-11-14 1:00 PM Thu 2019-11-14 2:30 PM
CAUBO UCG Group Work 1 of 2 / Group A online Tue 2019-11-19 1:00 PM Tue 2019-11-19 2:00 PM
CAUBO UCG Group Work 1 of 2 / Group B online Tue 2019-11-19 2:00 PM Tue 2019-11-19 3:00 PM
CAUBO UCG LLS 3 of 4 online Thu 2019-11-28 1:00 PM Thu 2019-11-28 2:30 PM
CAUBO UCG Group Work 2 of 2 / Group A online Tue 2019-12-03 1:00 PM Wed 2019-12-03 2:00 PM
CAUBO UCG Group Work 2 of 2 / Group B online Tue 2019-12-03 2:00 PM Wed2019-12-03 3:00 PM
CAUBO UCG Case Study Submission Due Date Tue 2019-12-10 Tue 2019-12-10
CAUBO UCG LLS 4 of 4 (Both Groups) online Thu 2019-12-12 1:00 PM Thu 2019-12-12 3:00 PM

** All times EDT
* Only need to attend one session

Presented by Peter Godman

When Peter Godman began working at the University of British Columbia in 1988, it was clear it was only the beginning of his path in Higher Education. With his wealth of post-secondary knowledge from roles ranging from fundraising to supply management and human resources, it is a natural fit for Peter to be facilitating the University Culture and Governance since 2013.

In 2012, he obtained his MEd in Higher Education from UBC, where he studied the history and culture of higher education and Canadian higher education issues, structure and policy. Peter currently works as the Operations Manager for Entrepreneurship@UBC, which supports venture creation for UBC students, faculty, and alumni.

Cancellation/Substitution Policy for online courses

Cancellations must be received in writing five (5) or more business days before the course start date and are subject to a $50.00 processing fee. Refunds will be processed within 30 days after the event. Refunds will not be granted after the registration deadline (5 business days before the start date).

Substitutions must also be received five (5) or more business days before the course start date. Only one substitution is permitted per original registrant with written consent. To request a cancellation or to make a change please send an email to kserjak@caubo.ca.

Watch a two-minute video to learn more about how CAUBO’s online courses are delivered and structured.