Enquêtes/Rapports

Enquêtes et rapports annuels :

Information financière des universités et collèges (IFUC)

Le rapport Information financière des universités et collèges (IFUC), seule source de données financières commune aux universités et collèges du Canada, permet une analyse globale des statistiques et des tendances du secteur. Les données du rapport IFUC sont établies à partir d’une déclaration annuelle que prépare et envoie chaque établissement membre de l’ACPAU. Il s’agit d’une initiative conjointe de l’ACPAU et de Statistique Canada. Cliquez ici pour accéder au rapport.

Sondage sur les placements des universités

Le sondage de l‘ACPAU sur les placements des universités est l’enquête la plus exhaustive menée au Canada au sujet des placements relatifs aux fonds de dotation et aux caisses de retraite des établissements postsecondaires canadiens. Le sondage a pour but principal de fournir aux établissements de l’information qui les aidera à mieux gérer leurs portefeuilles de placement, notamment de l’information sur les taux de rendement annualisés, le rendement et la composition de l’actif des mandats, la politique de dépenses et les coûts. Les résultats du sondage sur les placements sont compilés dans un rapport publié que peuvent consulter uniquement les établissements participants. Les résultats sont également présentés dans un article annuel de la revue Gestion universitaire. Cliquez ici pour y accéder.

Sondage sur la fraude

Le sondage annuel sur les fraudes commises dans les universités canadiennes, à l’interne ou à l’externe, suit au fil du temps la quantité et la valeur des fraudes, la façon dont les fraudes sont détectées, ainsi que la nature des faiblesses du système qui ont été exploitées. Il explore aussi les actions entreprises contre les fraudeurs de même que la portée des politiques et des processus antifraude. Les résultats du sondage aident les professionnels, notamment de l’audit, à mieux comprendre la fraude et ses caractéristiques dans notre milieu ainsi qu’à conscientiser les membres de la direction au sujet de la fraude, de ses risques et de ses conséquences. Cliquez ici pour y accéder.

Projet cojoint :

McConnell et CAUBO: Tracer la voie pour une administration à vocation sociale dans le milieu canadien de l’éducation supérieure

Comment les dirigeant·e·s administratif·ve·s et financier·ère·s du milieu de l’éducation supérieure peuvent-ils ou elles contribuer aux ambitions sociales de leur établissement?

RECODE et l’Association canadienne du personnel administratif universitaire (ACPAU) collaborent sur un projet d’envergure nationale pour aider les établissements postsecondaires du pays à examiner les nouvelles tendances dans le domaine de l’administration à vocation sociale. Leur partenariat met à profit l’expérience et les réseaux de RECODE quant à l’avancement de solutions axées sur la communauté, ainsi que le mandat de l’ACPAU visant l’excellence administrative dans le milieu canadien de l’éducation supérieure.

Le projet découle d’une recherche plus vaste menée l’an dernier par La fondation McConnell et l’Université Simon Fraser sur le rôle que les établissements postsecondaires peuvent jouer dans l’amélioration du bien-être communautaire, ce rôle incluant, mais allant aussi au-delà de leurs mandats premiers d’enseignement et de recherche. Le concept à la base de cette recherche, appelé « infrastructures sociales », est présenté dans un rapport intitulé Maximiser la capacité des établissements d’enseignement supérieur de bâtir des infrastructures sociales pour les communautés canadiennes. Celui-ci détaille les capacités et les actifs que les universités, cégeps et instituts polytechniques peuvent exploiter pour répondre aux besoins communautaires.

Ce partenariat s’ajoute à trois autres projets entrepris par RECODE, et dirigés conjointement par l’Université Simon Fraser, en collaboration avec Universités Canada, Collèges et instituts Canada et un groupe d’établissements de la Colombie-Britannique.

Voici les instruments que l’on trouve dans la boîte à outils des établissements d’éducation supérieure pour contribuer à l’essor des communautés canadiennes. Comme les instruments physiques et financiers relèvent des directeur·rice·s financier·ère·s et des directeur·rice·s administratif·ive·s des établissements, ce sont eux qui sont touché·e·s par ce partenariat.

L’ACPAU et RECODE souhaitent cerner les meilleures pratiques de l’industrie et aider les administrateur·rice·s à apprendre comment intégrer une valeur sociale accrue dans des domaines comme les ressources humaines, la gestion des installations, l’approvisionnement, l’investissement, la gestion du risque, la planification et l’élaboration de budgets, et les services auxiliaires. Bon nombre d’agent.es administratif·ive·s connaissent déjà l’approvisionnement social et durable ainsi que l’investissement social et durable. Le but est cependant d’amener tous les principaux responsables administratifs à intégrer des composantes sociales de manière plus explicite. Le projet est donc conçu pour :

  • cerner les possibilités;
  • découvrir et surmonter les obstacles; et
  • aider les administrateur·rice·s du milieu de l’éducation supérieure à renforcer les capacités de leur établissement dans ce domaine en pleine évolution.

Télécharger le document d’information sur l’administration à vocation sociale

« Choisir de dire oui lorsqu’il aurait été plus facile de dire non, voilà qui est absolument essentiel pour accroître l’innovation dans de grands organismes complexes comme les universités, où ce qui est facile à faire n’est pas toujours la meilleure chose à faire. Nous avons été RÉELLEMENT chanceux de pouvoir compter sur des dirigeants axés sur l’innovation et la collaboration dans le domaine de la finance et de l’administration. Ils ont cherché des solutions originales pour appuyer un projet social unique. »

– Wendy Cukier, cofondatrice, Ryerson University Lifeline Syria Challenge, Professor Entrepreneurship and Strategy, Université Ryerson

Consultation printanière

Au printemps 2018, l’ACPAU et La fondation McConnell ont consulté du personnel administratif collégial et universitaire lors des ateliers suivants :

Voici quelques faits saillants de ces consultations :

  • On observe un enthousiasme digne de mention quant au développement et à l’accroissement de l’ampleur de l’administration et de la finance à vocation sociale.
  • Il existe déjà plusieurs projets d’administration et de finance à vocation sociale, et un grand nombre de pratiques peuvent être partagées entre les établissements.
  • Il faut un.e champion.ne dans la haute direction pour que l’administration et la finance à vocation sociale connaissent du succès.
  • L’administration et la finance à vocation sociale doivent être incluses dans le plan stratégique pour devenir une priorité institutionnelle.

Série de webinaires

Les partenaires animent une série de webinaires pour aider les établissements à apprendre les uns des autres grâce au partage et à la reproduction de meilleures pratiques. Des travaux sont aussi en cours pour déterminer la meilleure façon d’intégrer l’administration et la finance à vocation sociale dans les plans stratégiques des établissements. Les membres de l’ACPAU affirment qu’il s’agit là d’un prérequis important et nécessaire pour développer l’innovation dans ce domaine de pratique professionnelle.

À venir : Inventaire des meilleures pratiques et des pratiques émergentes dans le domaine de l’administration et de la finance à vocation sociale

Les partenaires travaillent également sur un sondage dans le but de créer une base de données qui regroupera les pratiques adoptées dans les établissements canadiens. Cette base de données devrait être bientôt disponible.

Pour toute demande d’information, veuillez communiquer avec Kelly Hodgins à khodgins@mcconnellfoundation.ca

Enquêtes et rapports ciblés :

Politiques et pratiques relatives aux reports d’excédents budgétaires

L’ACPAU a mené un sondage pour mieux comprendre les politiques et les pratiques de ses membres relativement au report des excédents d’exploitation. Une table ronde a également été organisée pour discuter de ce sujet pendant le congrès ACPAU 2019 à Halifax. Les résultats de ce sondage et un résumé de cette table ronde sont désormais disponibles pour consultation (membres seulement).

Initiative sur les avantages sociaux des employés

L’ACPAU cherche des moyens d’aider les universités canadiennes à gérer l’augmentation des coûts et des risques liés aux avantages sociaux.

Quatre documents instructifs sont en cours d’élaboration à cette fin. Ils auront les objectifs suivants :

  • Présenter les principales formes d’ententes en vigueur au Canada à l’égard des avantages sociaux.
  • Explorer les différentes solutions envisageables pour atténuer les coûts et les risques, et évaluer la pertinence de ces solutions pour les établissements d’enseignement supérieur.

Les documents sont accessibles aux membres vice-recteurs seulement, en cliquant ici.

La cybersécurité en contexte universitaire

L’ACPAU, avec le concours du Conseil des dirigeants principaux de l’information des universités canadiennes (CDPIUC-CUCCIO), a commandé un rapport et un document PowerPoint destinés à nos membres. Plusieurs d’entres eux font face aux incidents de cybersécurité ou encore qu’ils se sont penchés sur des problèmes en la matière. Les menaces sont de plus en plus subtiles, les risques et les conséquences sont désormais plus grands, et la communauté universitaire est devenue la proie des cybercriminels innovateurs et dangereux d’aujourd’hui. Téléchargez:

Ressources fiscales – Notes d’information

Une série de notes d’information sur les enjeux clés des universités dans les domaines de l’impôt sur le revenu et des taxes de vente (TPS/TVH/TVQ) a été élaborée. Ces notes d’information peuvent être consultées par les membres en cliquant ici.

Études de cas sur le désinvestissement

Plusieurs études de cas ont été élaborées pour mettre en lumière les différentes situations et expériences des établissements ayant vécu des campagnes de désinvestissement, de même que les leçons à en tirer. Ces études de cas peuvent être consultées ici par les membres.

Universités canadiennes : Pressions sur les coûts, modèles de gestion d’affaires et viabilité financière

Ce rapport définit et examine les pressions exercées sur les coûts et les difficultés financières qui sont inhérentes au modèle de gestion d’affaires des universités canadiennes. Cliquez ici pour lire le rapport. 

L’entretien différé dans les universités canadiennes : Mise à jour

Cette étude présente une estimation, à l’échelle nationale, de l’état de l’entretien différé dans les universités canadiennes. Elle décrit également des cibles de saine gestion annuelle d’après l’investissement nécessaire pour un cycle de vie complet et d’après une cible annuelle d’investissement. Elle propose en outre plusieurs stratégies pour aider les universités et les bailleurs de fonds à gérer l’entretien différé et les besoins connexes. Cliquez ici pour lire le rapport.

Rapport sur les coûts indirects de la recherche

Cette étude explore trois pôles stratégiques et pratiques liés aux coûts indirects de la recherche : la mesure des coûts indirects, le recouvrement des coûts indirects et l’attribution du financement reçu. Le rapport peut être consulté ici.

« Bâtir l’expérience étudiante » – rapport sur les logements étudiants

Ce rapport porte sur les logements étudiants présents sur les campus universitaires au Canada, les modèles de développement des résidences pour étudiants et l’élaboration de dossiers de justification pour de nouveaux investissements. Cliquez ici pour accéder au rapport.

Notes d’information sur les rapports financiers

Ces notes d’information portent sur les répercussions de l’adoption, par les établissements canadiens, des normes comptables du secteur public (NCSP) et des normes comptables pour les entreprises à capital fermé (NCECF). Cliquez ici pour lire les notes.

Enquêtes et rapports d’autres organisations

Rapport final de l’étude de la NACUBO et de Commonfund sur les fonds de dotation – établissements canadiens

Le rapport final de l’étude de la NACUBO et de Commonfund sur les fonds de dotation présente les résultats des établissements canadiens qui ont participé à l’enquête. Celle-ci visait à rassembler de l’information sur le rendement des placements, la répartition des actifs, les taux de distribution et d’autres questions essentielles aux fonds de dotation des collèges, universités et fondations affiliées au Canada. Elle permet ainsi aux établissements canadiens de comparer leurs résultats avec ceux des établissements d’enseignement supérieur américains. L’information recueillie dans le cadre de l’étude de la NACUBO et de Commonfund est complémentaire à celle du sondage de l’ACPAU sur les placements. Le rapport peut être consulté ici par les membres.

Surveys/Reports

Annual Surveys and Reports:

Financial Information of Universities and Colleges (FIUC)

The Financial Information of Universities and Colleges (FIUC), the only common source of financial data of Canadian universities and colleges, facilitates statistical and trend analysis on an aggregate level. The FIUC data is based on an annual return completed and submitted by each of CAUBO’s member institutions. It is a joint undertaking between CAUBO and Statistics Canada. Click here to access

Investment Survey

The CAUBO Investment Survey is Canada’s most comprehensive survey of investments held by Canadian post-secondary institutions’ endowment and pension funds. The primary purpose of the survey is to provide institutions with information to assist them in better managing their investment portfolios and includes information on annualized rates of return, mandate performance and asset mix, spending policy and costs. The Investment Survey results are compiled into a published report that is available only to participating institutions; the results are also highlighted in an annual University Manager article. Click here to access

Fraud Survey

The Fraud survey is an annual survey of internal and external fraud cases within Canadian universities. It tracks the volume and value of fraud cases, fraud detection, the nature of control weaknesses exploited, the extent of anti-fraud policies and processes and the action taken against perpetrators. The results are intended to help audit and other professionals to better understand fraud and its characteristics in our environment, and to help build awareness at the executive level of fraud risks and impacts. Click here to access

Joint Projects:

McConnell and CAUBO: charting a Path for Social Purpose Administration

How can higher education finance and administration leaders contribute to their institution’s social ambitions?

RECODE and Canadian Association of University Business Officers (CAUBO) are collaborating on a national initiative to support post-secondary institutions across Canada in exploring emerging trends and expectations in social purpose administration. The partnership draws upon RECODE’s insights and networks in advancing community-centered solutions and CAUBO’s mission to enable excellence in Canadian higher education administration.

This initiative stems from broader research RECODE and Simon Fraser University pioneered last year on the roles post-secondary institutions can play to enhance community well-being – including and beyond their primary mandates of teaching and research. This concept–known as social infrastructure– is described in their report, Maximizing the Capacities of Advanced Education Institutions to Build Social Infrastructure for Canadian Communities, which lists the capacities and assets of universities, colleges and polytechnic institutes that can be mobilized to meet community needs.

The partnership complements three additional projects RECODE is pursuing with Universities Canada, Colleges and Institutes Canada, and a cohort of BC institutions under co-leadership with Simon Fraser University.

These are the instruments which advanced education institutions have in the toolbox to further contribute to the prosperity of Canadian communities. The Financial and Physical instruments are in the domain of chief administrative and financial officers and the subject of this partnership. 

CAUBO and RECODE seek to identify industry best practices and support administrators in learning about embedding greater social value in domains such as human resources, facilities management, procurement, investment, risk management, planning and budgeting and ancillary services. While many administrative officers are already familiar with social and sustainable procurement and social and sustainable investment, the aim is that eventually, all core administrative functions will have a more explicit social component. This initiative is designed to:

  • Outline these opportunities;
  • Learn about and overcome the barriers; and
  • Support advanced education administrators in building the capacity of their institutions in this evolving field.

Click here to view the Social Purpose Administration Primer

“Choosing to say yes when it would have been easier to say no – is absolutely critical to  driving innovation in large complex organizations like universities where the easy thing is not always the best thing to do. We were REALLY lucky to have innovative and collaborative leaders in Finance and Administration that looked  for out of the box solutions to support an out of the box social venture.”

– Wendy Cukier, Co-Founder, Ryerson University Lifeline Syria Challenge, Professor Entrepreneurship and Strategy,     Ryerson University

Spring Consultation

In the Spring of 2018 CAUBO and McConnell consulted with university and college administrators at the following workshops:

Highlights from these consultations include:

    • There is considerable enthusiasm for scaling and accelerating the concept of social purpose admin and finance

    • Many social purpose admin and finance initiatives are already underway, and there are many good practices to be shared across institutions

    • Social purpose admin and finance requires a senior champion to be successful

  • It needs to be included in the strategic plan for it to become an institutional priority

Webinar Series

The partners are now hosting a webinar series to help institutions learn from each other, through sharing and replicating best practices.  Efforts are also underway to determine how best to incorporate social purpose administration and finance into institutional strategic plans. CAUBO members say this is an important and necessary prerequisite to increasing innovation in this area of professional practice.

Coming Soon: Inventory of Best and Emerging Social Purpose Administration and Finance Practices

The partners also collaborated on a survey to create a database of practices at Canadian institutions. This database will be available soon.

Please contact Kelly Hodgins at khodgins@mcconnellfoundation.ca for more information.

Topical Surveys and Reports:

Carry-forward Policies and Practices

CAUBO conducted a survey to gain a better understanding of members’ policies and practices governing the carry-forward of unspent operating funds. A Roundtable discussion was held during the CAUBO 2019 Conference in Halifax to discuss the topic. The survey results and a summary of the Roundtable discussion are available (members only).

As part of the survey, members were asked to share their institution’s carry-forward policies. These policies have been posted here for reference. Please let us know if you are willing to share your institution’s policy in order to advance sector knowledge on this topic.

A number of institutions in Ontario, in collaboration with the Council of Ontario Finance Officers (COFO), have developed a summary of best practices for reporting carry-forwards. This document is also available for viewing here.

Employee Benefits Initiative

CAUBO has been looking at ways to help Canadian Universities manage rising benefits costs and risks.

To this end, a series of four educational briefs are being developed, that will:

  • Introduce the main forms of benefits arrangements that exist in Canada
  • Explore the various options available to mitigate associated costs and risks, and their fit for higher education institutions

The briefs are available for VP members only by clicking here.

Cannabis on Campus

As of October 17th, 2018, institutions across the country were faced with a new challenge on campus due to the legalization of cannabis. Regulations and legislation around the legislative change have been implemented and handled differently from coast to coast.

CAUBO conducted a survey to identify how universities and colleges are handling the change in legislation. The survey results and summary are now available on the website (members only)

View the following documents:

Cybersecurity

With almost daily reports of intrusions, data breaches and cyber attacks, Cyber-security continues to be top of mind for university administrators and was identified as a priority issue in CAUBO’s service plan.

We are pleased to advise you that the following products and services have been developed:

  • Cybersecurity in Higher Education (PPT presentation – members only)
  • Not Just an IT Issue: Roles of the Board and Executives in Managing Cyber Threats (webinar recording – coming soon)
  • Responding to a Cybersecurity or Data Breach: Are you ready? (webinar recording – coming soon)

Cybersecurity in a University Setting
CAUBO, with guidance from CUCCIO, has released a cybersecurity report to provide a tool to our members.  View the following documents:

Tax Resources - Tax Notes

A series of interpretive notes covering key university-specific issues in the areas of income tax and sales tax (GST/HST/QST) have been developed. These notes in the series are available for members by clicking here.

Divestment Case Studies

A series of case studies have been developed to highlight the different situations, experiences and lessons learned from institutions that have been through divestment campaigns. The case studies are available here for members.

Canada’s Universities: Cost Pressures, Business Models and Financial Sustainability

This discussion paper identifies and examines the cost pressures and financial challenges that are an integral part of the Canadian higher education business model. Click here to read the report.

Deferred Maintenance at Canadian Universities: An Update

The 2019 report provides an updated perspective on deferred maintenance at Canadian Universities. It goes beyond stating the current situation and provides members with practical information regarding strategies for managing deferred maintenance and making the case for investment. Case studies and success stories are included in the report to provide insight into how institutions have found innovative methods to secure additional funding and/or manage the funding they receive. Click here to read the report.

A data dashboard has been developed to provide institutions that participated in the survey with access to benchmark data. Click here to login and access the dashboard.

Indirect Costs of Research (ICR) Report

This study explores three key areas of policy and practice related to indirect costs of research—measurement of indirect costs, recovery of indirect costs and allocation of funding received. The report is available here.

Building the student experience - Student Housing Report

A report on university student housing in Canada, student housing development models, and building business cases for new investment. Click here to access.

Financial Reporting Information Notes

These financial reporting information notes assess the impact of adoption of PSA and ASPE standards by Canadian institutions. Click here to read the notes.

Tri-Agency Transition Toolkit

CAUBO has developed a toolkit to support members during the transition to the new principles-based Guidelines. The information in this toolkit is based on the experiences of the pilot institutions and available for members here.

Ancillary Benchmark Parking Survey Report

A high-level summary report of the Ancillary Benchmark Parking Survey results has been prepared and is available for members.

The Parking Services dashboard is available here for CAUBO members that participated in the survey.

Surveys and Reports from other organizations

NACUBO Commonfund Study of Endowments Final Report - Canadian Institutions

The NACUBO-Commonfund Study of Endowments Final Report provides results for the Canadian Institutions that participated in the survey. The survey gathers information about investment performance, asset allocations, spending rates, and other issues vital to endowments at Canadian colleges, universities, and affiliated foundations. As companion survey of U.S. colleges and universities it allows Canadian institutions to compare their results with American higher education institutions. The information collected through the NACUBO-Commonfund study is complimentary to CAUBO’s Investment Survey. The report is available here for members.